Wacky Wednesday – Baby Boomers Just Want to Have Fun

The new urban crime wave.  Do you know where your mother and grandmother are?  Sadly, I might know where mine was.  Every Tuesday night she disappears for hours with her knitting.  Could she be one of the the knitting guerillas?

How about you, have any of your loved ones taken up yarn bombing?  At the moment I’m looking for a support group for my mother.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hartford
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 04:17:27

    Soooo cool!!! I have never picked up knitting (or any other crafty thing for that matter). No one in my family is crafty. I think it’s wonderful that people are out there sharing their talents with the world!

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Sep 04, 2011 @ 22:03:02

      I’m with you! I think it’s cool to see what other people do with knitting. It’s amazing what people can do with crafts. I don’t know how they see a couple balls of yarn and know 5 different ways to make it into something pretty.

      Reply

  2. Linda Burke
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 07:02:09

    Surprised it stayed up so long. Thanks for sharing.

    I can’t find anywhere to get an email notice when you post something new to your blog.

    Reply

  3. Angela OrlowskiPeart (@Angela_Peart)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 08:54:24

    I love knitting myself but I’m not a big fan of bombing. We have some old tree stumps in my neighborhood (pretty tall) that get new “socks” every season. Many folks like it but I’m not one of them. The “bombs” are too bright and don’t fit well in the landscape. They get quite dirty fast since the trees are along a very busy street. But knitting is awesome. I’ve been a knitter since age 7, when my mom taught me how to knit. My sister tried too but she decided knitting is not for her.

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Sep 04, 2011 @ 22:00:24

      You know I could see how it could be an eye sore. I wouldn’t want to see it every day and some places should not be targeted. Are you going to post the things you knit on your blog? I would love to see some of it. I can’t knit so I like to ohh and ahh over other people’s knitting.

      Reply

  4. Lesann
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 11:07:57

    Brilliant! I love the legwarmer on the statue and yarn bombing. I almost snorted coffee out my nose. Ah…good times.

    Reply

  5. Isis Rushdan
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 11:52:52

    My mother used to knit, but sadly the fibers from the yarn kept getting into her lungs and she had to quit. Weird, huh.

    Anyway, I finally made it to your blog, YAY. Are you on Twitter?

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Sep 04, 2011 @ 22:13:28

      I’m so sorry to hear that your mother had to stop knitting. I know my mom can’t knit with certain types of yarn due to allergies. Has your mother picked up any other crafting hobbies?

      Thank you for stopping by! I just went over to your blog and looked around. I’m normally faster, but the long weekend is messing with my internet time. It’s a really nice blog. My reading list is getting longer and longer with all the great books posted on blogs. I’m on twitter and we are both following each other. Thank you for making the connection between us.

      Reply

  6. tamerietherton
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 12:48:14

    First of all, how cool is this? Knitting bombing. Huh. I’m going to tell my daughter about this – she’ll be all over it in San Francisco!

    Second, there’s a remake of Billy Idol’s ‘Dancing with myself?’ I loved it! Must find on iTunes at once.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

