Freaky Friday: Danse Macabre 2011

The last few Fridays I have blogged about the difference between True Blood the show and the books its based on.  However, I just had to share a unique dance troop with a supernatural flare, the West Springfield Dance Team.  The dance team is currently competing in America’s Got Talent.  I’m amazed by the talent and imagination of this group of high school students.  The last three weeks they have had to preform with only days to create new dance routines for the show.

What I love about this dance team is that they somehow make the horror supernatural theme into a fabulous preformance.  I have seen others try this in dance performances but it always looks goofy.  I really hope someone picks them up or builds on this creative expression of the supernatural.  I can see this group perform in musicals, tv shows or just as an act by themselves.

What do you think of this new themed dance troop?  Have you seen any new or inventive ways to express the supernatural genre?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lesann
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 12:02:49

    This were really fun. I never had the coordination to dance – friends just laughed and fell about the place, but I sure appreciate those who can. The synchronization is amazing and I think you’re right, they managed to pull off the creepy sinister feel without it being corny.

    I love touring blogs because I see so much stuff I’d never discover otherwise.

    Reply

  2. Megan Nafke
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 20:47:45

    I’m so sorry that I haven’t responded to your post. I didn’t see that there were posts waiting to be approved until tonight.

    I’m so glad you liked the post. I will post the next time they preform. I’m not much of a dancer either. As long as you can laugh and enjoy it then it’s worth getting out on the floor. I think people who can dance have a beautiful gift. Do you have a favorite type of dance?

    I feel that same way about touring blogs. I’m starting to get hooked on books and shows from reading blogs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

