Wacky Wednesday: Ninja Squirrels

First you hear the rustling of leaves as the ninja squirrel runs from one tree to the next following you as you walk your dog.  When the dog finally notices it, the squirrel climbs down towards the dog instead of away.  The squirrel sits just one inch away from the reach of the dog.  After pulling your dog away, the squirrel is more than willing to say goodbye wagging its bushy tail and taunting them with their chatter. Squirrels seem to make taunting dogs a sport.

My poor dog seems to run into these ninja squirrel every time I take her on a walk.  You have to wonder if the squirrels do it on purpose.

Have you ever had another animal tease your pet?  Have you ever had your pet catch another animal?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hartford
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 11:21:39

    OMG – squirrels torture my dog. They seem to know just how far she can go on her lead and they jump, play and snicker just at the edge of her reach while the dog loses her mind. LOVE the video!

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 20:34:22

      I’m glad you liked the video. Thank you for sharing your own dog story. It’s nice to know that other people have problem with diabolical squirrels.

      Reply

  2. tamerietherton
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 13:01:00

    Oh, my goodness! That squirrel is just lucky it never fell off that tree!

    We don’t have squirrels here (not in our backyard, at least), but there are other creatures that torment my sweet Zora. Um, a cute little bunny that she caught on Easter (yes, it was mortifying to to my son) and some mice, possibly a bird or two. We don’t really have a critter problem with Zora around. Ganon, on the other hand, thinks every animal is his baby and tries to groom them.

    Love the video, too!

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 20:45:34

      I’m with you. The first time I watched the clip I kept shutting my eyes. That was one lucky squirrel. I’m so sorry that your son had to see the family dog kill a bunny on Easter. Oh, I feel so bad for him. I hope he still likes Easter.

      Reply

  3. Naomi Bulger
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 15:44:05

    LOL. Once and once only, my dog almost caught a squirrel. It was on the grass in the park. My dog bolted for the squirrel, and he just assumed the squirrel would run away like every other squirrel had every other time.

    The squirrel didn’t see him, just kept picking at the grass. But my silly dog hadn’t calculated to actually stop running when he reached the squirrel: he was prepared for a chase. So in fact he got up enough speed that he actually trod ON the squirrel’s head as he simply raced on past.

    There was a pause. My dog skidded to a halt a few metres passed the squirrel with a “what the!?” look on his face. The clearly befuddled squirrel was shaking its head and body and probably wondering what on earth had happened. I could hear the cartoon sound effects inside my head and I was already doubled over laughing.

    Then at the same moment, both animals seemed to come out of their trances. My dog took another rush at the squirrel, but this time it gathered its wits and raced straight up a tree. Where it stopped, just out of reach, and began the taunt.

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 20:40:07

      I made the mistake of drinking milk while reading your post. I’m still laughing. That would be such a funny scene in a book or a cartoon show. I hope you share more in the future. I’m a sucker for funny dog stories.

      Reply

  4. Angela Wallace
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 19:24:42

    I dog-sit sometimes, and the dog I take care goes crazy over squirrels. She’s caught a couple too, which was just nasty. One time I found a squirrel trapped in the pool area, and since I didn’t want the dog to eat it, I opened the gate and tried to herd him out. Well, he wasn’t too bright, and in his mad dash, he slipped and fell in the pool! It was so sad, but he looked so silly!

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 20:50:51

      Dog sitting must be so much fun. I bet you have all kinds of stories of silly dogs.

      That was so nice of you to save the squirrel. I don’t think I have ever seen a squirrel swim before, but it sounds hilarious.

      Reply

  5. Lesann
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 12:11:48

    That’s the first animal version of “chicken” I’ve ever seen. That was one determined dog and as you said, a truly diabolical squirrel. Clever little sciuridae.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

