Murder, Mayhem and Madness Monday: One Too Many Spooky Nights

Have you ever watched one too many scary movies?  Or perhaps read the newspaper on a local serial killer that is still at large just before bed?

How do you know when it is too much?  Sometimes it obvious like you start sleeping with a baseball bat.  Maybe not so obvious like telling people who leave the room at night that the ones that stray are the first to go.

I’m not saying that happened to me. *shifty eyes* On a completely different subject my family has told me to take a break from the creepy stuff for a week.  Instead I found a nice spoof video on a hostage situation in a Walmart.  Spoofs are a healthy way to diminish fear over everything that goes bump in the night.

What do you do when you have been scared too much from the news or a scary movie?


10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tamerietherton
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 20:28:58

    When I was 13 my brother and sisters all watched ‘Phantasm’. That silver ball still haunts my dreams. As a result, I don’t watch scary movies. Ever.

    However, last year I got into Criminal Minds. I’d only watch during the day, mind you because that show can be creepy. Well, I was a hotel one night and CM was on. What the heck, I thought, I’m a big girl. Yeah, no. It was an episode where a woman gets chained in a barn and dogs are let loose on her. You don’t see it, but you hear it.

    I called my husband at midnight and made him talk to me until 2AM when I was so exhausted I’d sleep. Never watched another episode of CM again. I’m still traumatized.

    Stupid silver ball. ; )

    tameri…

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Aug 16, 2011 @ 14:06:55

      Thank you for sharing your stories. I just watched a clip of ‘Phantasm’ on youtube. I can see how the show would scare you when you were 13.

      Criminal Minds can defiantly be scary. They normally don’t show the scary scenes it’s just the sound effects and music. Maybe we need to cover our ears instead of eyes. I’m with you; I don’t want to watch Criminal Minds alone at night.

      Sounds like you have a wonderful husband. It’s nice to have that one person you can call in the middle of the night.

      Reply

  2. Hartford
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 04:11:55

    As I have gotten older, I’ve had to ease up on the scary stuff cause I just get way to paranoid. A few weeks ago, we were at our cottage. We rented a mid-level scary movie. We watched it in the bedroom with all the light off. After it was over, I had myself so psyched out, I couldn’t bring myself to leave the room to go to the bathroom. And then…as I was peaking around the doorjam, a neighbor showed up and started knocking on the front door – I nearly PEED myself as I started screaming like a banshee. Hubby and the neighbor thought it was a riot. I don’t think I’ve picked up a scary movie since. LOL!

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Aug 16, 2011 @ 14:10:25

      I feel so bad for you. It’s never fun when you are frightened, and having people enjoy seeing you scared is even worse. What movie were you watching? Have you tried scaring them in return to see how they like it?

      Reply

  3. Patricia Sands
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 06:36:14

    I never watch scary movies either – ever! So how did I become a total “Dexter” fan? Blame it on my kids!

    Reply

  4. Megan Nafke
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 14:12:14

    Sounds like you have some pretty persuasive kids. How did they talk you into watching it?

    Reply

  5. Angela Orlowski-Peart
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 21:03:05

    Around Haloween we watch a lot of scary movies, but it’s hard to really frighten me. Hellraiser is THE movie that I’ve pledged to never ever watch again. It beats anything else in the scary department for me 🙂

    Reply

  6. Angela Orlowski-Peart
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 21:04:03

    Ahem, I meant Halloween *smirk* fast fingers.

    Reply

  7. Angela Wallace
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 12:45:06

    I do not watch horror ever. I read Three by Ted Decker a few years ago and was so freaked out. I don’t remember how I got over it, time maybe, but I never picked up another book by him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

