Murder, Mayhem and Madness Monday: A Bad Week In Crime for the Bay Area

When flipping to a news station you’re bound to find a death or two.  But the news normally throws us a heart-warming tale of a citizen helping others or someone doing successful in this bad economy.  The news failed us last week in California.  The deaths and violent acts last week were unspeakable and the amount was alarming.  In Oakland alone, they had increased their police force because the homicide rate this year reached, 71.  In San Jose, once one of the safest big cities is now growing rapidly in violent crimes.

One crime stood out among them all.  A nine-year-old boy and his parents came to California on a trip and went to a Giants baseball game.  After the game, they had walked across a street and a car hit the boy.  The driver left the scene of the crime and went on to hit a few more cars.  Through witnesses the cops arrested the man, Vargas, who had made it back to his house in Hayward.  To make matters worse the driver was intoxicated.  The boy is still in critical care.  The Giants gave the boy a moment of silence to pray for him to get better.  That act brought me to tears.  Sometimes it’s the smallest act that gives us hope in troubling times.

Last week did have an uplifting story of a 15-year-old hero.  Two 15 year-old friends were fiddling with a bb gun, without any bullets in it, at one of their homes.  The father came home and was followed into the house by three robbers.  One of the robbers put the father in a chokehold.  The brave and smart friend picked up the empty bb gun and aimed it at the robbers.   Although he had no bullets he went ahead and pretended he was putting a round in the chamber of his gun.  This sound worked because it scared the robbers enough to leave.  If the boy hadn’t scared the robbers, who knows what would have happened to boys and the father.

In weeks like last week, I put my focus on the good stories.  We need to cherish the stories of people taking a moment to think of others and give them good wishes.  We need learn from brave heroes that find ways to protect themselves from crime.  So this week I’m going to be determined to find one story filled with hope.

I would love to hear from you.  Do you have any uplifting stories from the news?  

 

Links

Homicide rates in Oakland

http://fiftyseventhirtythree.wordpress.com/2011/08/02/oakland-putting-more-officers-on-the-street-as-homicide-count-rises-to-71-source/

Hit in run

http://www.mercurynews.com/bay-area-news/ci_18623822?source=rss

Moment of silence TV clip

http://abclocal.go.com/kgo/video?id=8292549

15-year-old scares away robbers

http://www.foxreno.com/news/28784981/detail.html

http://www.contracostatimes.com/crime-courts/ci_18620504

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. patriciasands
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 08:54:50

    You’re not kidding that was a bad week in CA! Thank goodness you found some bright spots to tell us about! I’ve pretty much decided to stop watching the news for a while and in the meantime I looked to see what sort of good news websites there were. There are actually quite a few but I thought I would pass this one on to you.
    http://gimundo.com/
    Let’s hope the coming week is a better one!

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Aug 08, 2011 @ 13:40:20

      I’m with you, some weeks I just need a break from the news. I wish they had a news station that only reported positive news stories. Thank you very much for posting a website with uplifting news stories. It really made my day. I loved the article on the cats. I’m a sucker for anything animal. Well except for chickens.
      I’ll keep my fingers crossed for a better week too!

      Reply

  2. Angela Wallace
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 18:44:28

    Ugh, this is why I don’t watch the news either. What bugs me, though, is the U.S. is always so focused on news about us. A tornado in Russia got a 10-sec blip the other night. 10 seconds is one sentence. I want to know more about the freakish tornado, not listen to more government bureaucrats point fingers.

    Reply

  3. Megan Nafke
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 19:03:23

    I totally agree with you Angela. I wish the news had more of a variety of topics and more stories on other countries. Maybe a whole show on other countries. I defiantly would love to hear about that tornado in Russia. I will look it up.

    Reply

  4. jennifer tanner
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 19:38:42

    Hello Megan!

    Hey, I picked the same theme for my non-writing blog.

    I don’t watch the local news anymore. Too depressing. BBC news on the PBS or the BBCA channel is a good source for worldwide coverage.

    This article put a grin on my face. It’s a bit strange, but uplifting in a way.

    http://www.nypost.com/p/news/local/brooklyn/cleared_in_rape_facing_deport_VjbMfuzkllHPpEVXExhtuJ

    Cheers!
    Jen

    Reply

  5. jennifer tanner
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 19:40:44

    Ooops! Wrong article… (and hardly uplifting!) This is the one I meant to give you the link to…

    http://www.nypost.com/p/news/local/brooklyn/finder_fell_in_love_wanted_to_keep_J5DXGQSNiPKuqm0pWliULL

    Sorry!

    Reply

  6. Megan Nafke
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 20:44:09

    Hi Jennifer!
    Thanks for posting that article. I laughed through the whole story. I especially liked the fact that the parents let him visit the monkey. lol BBC news is a great recommendation .I too like BBC news. I haven’t watched it in awhile since I only had time for one news show. I think I will switch to watching BBC this week.

    Reply

  7. Hartford
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 04:11:59

    What a week in CA – so sad, eh!? Yes, it’s gotten to the point where I won’t watch the news any longer because it’s too darn depressing. It’s bad news mania and I truly believe that it just breeds hopelessness in our society – who needs that? I think it’s great that you sort through the negative to find and pull out the great stories because I agree, they are there if we look and it’s wonderful that you are bringing attention to them….

    Reply

  8. Megan Nafke
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 13:50:20

    Hartford, Thank you for replying. I agree with you, we need to look for the positive aspects in the news. Some stories I can’t even watch. We need more people like you that seek out the hope and positive aspects in the world. Maybe if enough of us ask for stories like that they might show them more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

