The Case Of The Missing Blogger

You might have wondered where I have been.  I wish it was an exciting story like I won the lottery or was off raising tigers.  As some of you know I had an injury that affected my ability to type.  I was supposed to rest my neck and arm until I finished physical therapy, but I kept reinjuring it.  It’s hard not using your hands/neck when you’re in the masters program for a teaching credential.   Who knew there would be so much paper work?  Lucky for me I could still click with the mouse and read other people’s blog.  I got addicted to face book games and reading other people’s posts.  I became what my family calls a lurker.

I finally discovered a solution to my problem, when I was watching TV.  That’s right I learned something from TV even more amazing in a commercial.  It was a commercial for Dagon Naturally speaking, software that allows you to speak instead of type to produce written documents.  I had used it years ago, but it took hours of training the software before you could start writing.  I gave it a shot.  It worked on the first try.   Now I’m pain free and sleeping well for the first time in months.  More importantly, I have a way to blog!

I recommend the software for anyone with hand injuries or who just wants a break from typing.  It’s given me my voice back.  I’m able to keep writing my novel, blog and more importantly reconnect with friends.

A special thanks to all my blogging friends.  Even though I stopped writing, I still kept up with your blogs and messages.  Reading your blogs gave me something to look forward to everyday.  I have had nothing but support and love from my fellow bloggers and for that I will always be grateful.  As a blogger, I wonder if my blog is helping anyone on posts that no one really responds to.  I now know that even if people aren’t responding (as I wasn’t) it doesn’t mean that you aren’t making a difference

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Naomi Bulger
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 22:16:44

    Megan it’s so good to ‘hear’ your voice again, and I’m thrilled you can return to writing, pain free at last. I look forward to more from you and, in the meantime, happy lurking! :-)

    Reply

  2. Angela Orlowski-Peart
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 12:08:51

    Megan, I’m so happy you are back. I remember you had health issues but I kept waiting for you to return. So glad you found a software that will help you write again. Looking forward to your new posts. Good luck with your WIP.

    Reply

  3. Megan Nafke
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 19:26:33

    Thank you, Naomi and Angela, for all your sweet words. I can’t tell you how great it is to be able to talk to you guys again. Your comments made me cry. It’s so wonderful to have such a supportive blogging group. I’m really looking forward to getting to post blogs and respond to your blogs. I have missed you guys so much. Thank you for taking the time to welcome me back. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

