Tag i’m It! My Top Ten List.

I have been tagged by one my favorite blogging friends, Angela Orlowski-Peart , to play a blogging game.  In this game I write a post about 10 intresting things about myself and then tag four other bloggers to do the same.  I was lucky enough to find five fabulous bloggers to play the game with me: @LolaSharp @FESewell @IsisRushdan @Tiger_Gray @Robin_Weeks  All the bloggers are part of the  Writer’s Platform-Building Campaign.

Megan’s top ten list

 10

When I was four my mother took me on the Matterhorn roller coaster at Disneyland.  I didn’t know at the time that my mother had a fear of heights.  It didn’t take long for her to start screaming.  When the ride went outside the mountain or around corners she would scream, “we’re going to die.  Look how far we are up.  Oh god I can feel it, we’re tipping.”  It may not surprise you but it wasn’t until my teens that I was really able to enjoy roller coasters again.

9

I go to Disneyland once a year.

8

Halloween is one of my favorite holidays.  I loved watching spooky movies and wearing whatever costume my mother made that year. However, I didn’t like candy.  I can still remember how happy my brother and mother were when I came home with my pillow sack full of candy.

7

I have bought the book Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark: Collected from American Folklore by Alvin Schwartz three times as a kid.  I loved the spooky stories in it but there was one story about a killer hiding in the attic.  My room had the access panel for our attic and I would become convinced that the sounds I heard from there were a killer just waiting for me to go to sleep.  After a few days of not sleeping, my mom would figure out what the problem was and make me get rid of the book.

6

Every watch I have owned dies within a few days or at most three weeks.

5

I have been telling and writing stories since I could talk.  When I would catch my mother not listening, I would start telling her wilder and wilder story twists.  You know, “And then they took my classmate out into the woods and shot him.” Or “The squirreled came down from the chandelier and demanded nuts.”

I’m currently in the same teaching credential program that my grandfather attended.

3

As a child, I refused to eat square pizza because it I swore it tasted different than the round pizza.  I don’t think so anymore but my family still teases me about being a picker eater so I still insist it taste different.

2

When I was a kid I caught a rapid badger in my cousin’s basement.  I don’t know why but they wouldn’t let me keep it as a pet or hug it.

1

I love to bake cupcakes.  My two favorite cupcakes are Oreo and pound cake.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. F.E. Sewell (@FESewell)
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 19:53:17

    Thanks for the tag, Megan! :)

    My favorite cupcakes are Oreo, too!

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Sep 04, 2011 @ 21:03:18

      You are very welcome! Thanks for playing the game with me. It’s good to meet another Oreo cupcake fan! Do you make your own? I have been working on Oreo and mint Oreo home made whipped cream. Mmmm now I want one.

      Reply

  2. tamerietherton
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 03:35:25

    You’re hilarious! I love your first story about the Matterhorn – that would’ve freaked out any kid. Apparently, I’m not allowed to say, ‘We’re gonna die!” on any ride at Disneyland because it freaks my son out. He, who will go on the most insane roller coasters, is afraid of words. Huh.

    I’m just so confused why they wouldn’t let you keep the badger. Well, I suppose badgers don’t make good house pets, but think of the dam you would’ve had in the backyard!

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Sep 04, 2011 @ 21:08:43

      Thank you for saying I’m hilarious. That’s so funny that your son will ride crazy roller coasters but doesn’t want to be teased with words. Kids are so funny.

      Thank you! I don’t know why they didn’t let me keep it. In fact they wouldn’t let me get close to it. We tied a rope to the basement door, which was outside. We pulled the rope from the kitchen and waited for it to leave.

      Reply

  3. Angela Wallace
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 09:36:45

    I remember actually almost falling out of that ride. I never rode another Disneyland roller coaster after that. That is really cool going to the same program your grandfather did.

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Sep 04, 2011 @ 21:11:38

      How scary! What ride did you almost fall off of? I’m sorry that happened to you. I hope you still enjoy the other rides at Disneyland.

      Thank you, I feel proud being in the same program. In fact I go to the same building he went to for classes. =)

      Reply

      • Angela Wallace
        Sep 05, 2011 @ 11:08:02

        I’m pretty sure it was the Matterhorn… And no, I don’t do amusement parks anymore. :-P If I did, I’d go on the spinning rides.

        That is really cool. Has the place changed much?

  4. Angela Orlowski-Peart
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 07:49:53

    OMG, Megan, your facts are fantastic and so hilarious! The rollercoaster ride at the age four with your mom screaming these “encouraging” (ha, ha) words is a hoot!
    I love Halloween too. It’s my favorite holiday and every year me and my family have a blast trick-or-treating. Oh, and I adore cupcakes. I don’t eat too many of them but I love how they look. I even have a fantastic cookbook on creating them, “Hello, Cupcake!” by Karen Tack and Alan Richardson.

    Reply

    • Megan Nafke
      Sep 04, 2011 @ 21:19:28

      Thank you so much! I feel so special. You never know how people are going to react to your personal information.

      It’s so nice to have a fellow Halloween lover in the group. Do you still dress up? I do. Though unlike other places in the country, in California you can wear costumes all year round.

      Thank you for the book suggestion. I have reserved the “Hello, Cupcake” book from the library. I’m with you. They look so pretty. Mmm I want cupcakes.

      Reply

  5. marlenedotterer
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 09:40:05

    Moms, don’t let your kids grow up to ride the Matterhorn…

    I’m a fan of Halloween too, only I celebrate it as Samhain. I love to make pumpkin martinis and put out all my witchy stuff. We play cool music real loud – I have a Vampyre CD, and a Y2K doomsday CD of scary classical music.

    Reply

  6. Lynda R Young
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 23:34:05

    cupcakes are win!!
    Wish I could go to Disneyland once a year. I’ve been twice in my life. Once in America and once in Hong Kong ;)

    Reply

  7. Isis Rushdan
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 01:27:05

    Hi Megan,

    Great to learn more about you. I have the same problem with watches. I don’t wear one now. But I told my husband that if he bought me a Rolex I’d wearing even when it stops working :).

    I need to get my tag list posted, but with so many people coming by my blog for the Book Giveaway, I think I’ll wait until it is done :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

